Cautiously Optimistic

That’s what I am right now.  By nature I can be rather negative and cynical when it comes to the motives of others, and my prayer is that God’s grace will sanctify me in this area.  With that said, when I am optimistic about something, it still tends to be a cautious optimism.  And right now I am cautiously optimistic that the American people are waking up!  There is no denying that the majority of the people are against an United States strike on Syria.  Yes, there are some that are for it.  These are the same people that would justify most anything that Obama executes.  And yet, I wonder…I just wonder if as many people would be against this attack if a neoconservative, and not Obama was in office right now?  I say neoconservative because a true conservative would not even think about bombing Syria.  Hello Ron Paul!

Don’t let the silence on the subject of Syria by Hollywood elitists discourage you.  They don’t speak for the heart of this country, and quite frankly I don’t give a rip about what Sean Penn or Susan Sarandon think about Syria, or Iraq, or any political point for that matter.  What I do care about is the fact that the American people are against this strike, and that makes me cautiously optimistic that the American people are tired of being lied to.  That makes me cautiously optimistic that the American people are tired of soldiers losing their lives because American can’t stay out of foreign entanglements.

Some might call me a simpleton. I would tell you to read Washington’s Farewell Address, particularly those parts about foreign alliances:

http://avalon.law.yale.edu/18th_century/washing.asp

There is much more work and progress to be made!  If America is to get back to her roots, We the People will have to continue to make our voices heard, and stand up against what is wrong.  Can we do this?  I remain cautiously optimistic.

For other well-written articles/blogs on the subject, please see:

http://benswann.com/the-two-major-problems-with-president-obamas-syria-address/

http://natepyle.com/questions-that-need-to-be-answered-before-attacking-syria/

http://blogs.wsj.com/peggynoonan/2013/09/10/making-sense-of-syria/

 

 

Leave a Reply

