Why I Am Rooting for the Golden Domers

Listen, I never thought I’d say this, but my allegiance tonight stands with the Notre Dame Fighting Irish!  It’s not just because I have two lifelong friends that are huge Irish fans, and sure, I’d like to see their team win.  It’s not just because Rudy is one of the greatest sports movies of all time, and sure, no matter how many times I watch it, when Rudy takes the field at the end of the game I get a little choked up.  Wait, what?

Unknown

No…No…No!  There is only one main reason that I am rooting for the Fighting Irish tonight, and that is simply because I live in SEC country.  Yes, I understand that I risk offending some friends with this post, but SEC fans are the most annoying and arrogant fans in the country.  It’s true!  And you know what?  Right now they have every right to be that way!  Their conference is the best in the nation.  They have won six straight BCS title games, and seven out of nine!  They have dominated college football over the past ten years, and I am ready for that to change.  Never mind the fact that I believe that Urban Meyer will have Ohio State in the national championship game about 7-8 times in the next 10 years.  That doesn’t matter tonight because Ohio State isn’t playing for the title.  But Notre Dame is!  And they are playing Alabama, arguably the most storied program in college football history.  The case can be made that Notre Dame is the only other program that can be put in the same class as Alabama.  It’s going to be a classic matchup tonight.

I think Alabama is the more talented team.  I think Alabama is the faster team.  I think Alabama is the team on paper that should win the game tonight.

Unknown-1

But I think Notre Dame can win this game if they play together as a team.  They remind me so much of the 2002-03 Ohio State team that defeated the heavily favored Miami Hurricanes for the national championship.  Nobody gave the Buckeyes much of a chance that year, and honestly most experts don’t give Notre Dame much of a chance tonight.

Unknown-4

But this isn’t about expert predictions. I, therefore, predict that Notre Dame leaves it all out on the field tonight and plays their best game of the season.

Notre Dame 28  Alabama 23  (But I’m no expert, and I don’t even play one on t.v.)

And why do I hope this will happen?  So I can stop hearing things like, “Well, if Notre Dame and Ohio State played in the SEC they would lose to Vanderbilt and Kentucky on a yearly basis.”  I never dreamed in a million years that I would root for Notre Dame, but when you hear those arguments on a daily basis, it sure changes things.

Just win the game, Irish!  Please, for all of us non-SEC fans living in SEC country, just win the game!  I don’t care if you have to suit up Sean Astin to take the field, even though it looks like at some point in the past few years that he ate Rudy for a midnight snack.

Unknown-3

For the love of all things non-SEC, just win the game, Irish!

Unknown-2

Leave a Reply

