Admonished in Miseries

In his commentary on Genesis 3:19, John Calvin says:

So it is best that when we are admonished of the miseries of the present life, we should weep over our sins and seek relief from the grace of Christ, which not only can assuage the bitterness of grief but mingle sweetness with it.

john-calvin

In my Christian life, I have experienced this to be true over and over again.  Some of my sweetest moments of fellowship with my Savior were when the miseries of this present life were most expounded to me.  As I feel humbled over my sin and misery, I am so thankful for a Savior who is there with me, admonishing me in my misery, and restoring me unto himself.

If you are a believer, I would love to hear how Jesus Christ has shown himself mighty on your behalf.

If you are an unbeliever, I would love to hear the ways in which you deal with your misery and suffering.  This is not a setup or trap.  If you are a non-believer, I would very much enjoy having a civil discussion on how you deal with the problem of suffering.

 

Leave a Reply

